Jamie Oliver’s Italian restaurant now opened in Toronto!

20151219_193411

My spouse and I decided to do some last minute Christmas shopping and as we hopped out the car we noticed Yorkdale Mall had opened up a new restaurant…not just any restaurant, but JAMIE OLIVER! Food Network’s star.

I’ve been watching Jamie Oliver for years, even before I knew how to cook like a pro. I always wanted to taste Jamie’s food, so I was gungho when I saw this new restaurant at my favorite mall in Toronto.

Now, you might be wondering…Why an Italian restaurant? Jamie is British. Well…Jamie is a lover of Italian food and its traditions.  In Jamie’s words..”When I tasted the menu at Buca (…in Toronto), and found that we had the exact same ideas in mind, I knew I had found the right guys to kick start this exciting project with.”

When we walked into the establishment we were instantly greeted by a hostess. The place was relatively packed.  There was a forty five minute wait for a table, so we opted to sit at the bar. I was pleasantly surprised how attentive the service was even at this disadvantage. Besides, It was pretty entertaining watching the bartenders do their thing.

 

20151219_194025

In the evening, the ambience is very laidback and intimate. The décor is rustic with wood paneling running throughout the restaurant.

 

20151219_194332

This was pretty cool.  Huge legs of prosciutto and bundles of grape tomatoes hung around the deli station, which can be seen in its glory at the bar.

20151219_194402.jpg

In the back of the restaurant,  you can find an open kitchen where all the cooks are bustling in action.

shrimp1

For the main, I initially wanted the Rabbit Ragu…but it was sold out. So, I opted for their famous Prawn Linguine. It was delicious. The pasta was swimming in a spicy reddish orange broth. My spouse and I agreed that this dish would have been better with crusty bread to soak up the flavorful broth. I will definitely recommend this dish. But if you don’t like spicy dishes I will suggest you tell the chef to tone it down a notch.

cake.jpg

We ended the meal with an Italian dessert called Panna Cotta. It had a light, creamy cheese cake consistency with a sweet raspberry compote pooling on top.  This was my first having this dessert and I liked it. The perfect dessert to bring a good meal to an end. Not at all heavy.

I ordered a cup of Americano to watch it all down.

Over all, the experience was great. The service was very attentive. A cool place to bring family and friends.

 

Reservations: Yes

Price: Moderate (small servings are available)

Website: https://www.jamieoliver.com/italian/canada/

Leave a Reply

