Quinoa and Cajun Shrimp

20151204_190934

 

I’m on a journey towards a healthier lifestyle. I’m sick of eating out all the time and clogging my arteries. I’m getting older and need take better care of myself. So I’ve been thinking of ways on cooking healthier. That means finding better substitutes for white rice because I would love to fit into my skinny jeans again.

Lately, Quinoa has been getting good a wrap for being nutritional over white rice. Therefore higher in fiber, iron and protein.  So, I thought I would give it a try.

20151204_181023

I went to Whole Foods and picked up a bag of Gluten free Quinoa, and came up with this festive, healthy , simple recipe that will have your family and friends imploring to make it again!

 

 

2 tsps. oil

1 tsp of Cajun seasoning

1 1/2 cup of vegetable broth

2 cups of Quinoa

1 bag of raw shrimp

1 pomegranate

Garnish with a dollop of yogurt.

 

Rinse Quinoa. Place in a sauce pan and add vegetable broth. Bring to boil and let cook for 5 to 10minutes. Cover and reduce heat to low. Once done, fluff the Quinoa with fork and toss in chopped cilantro.

Meanwhile, add oil to pan on high medium heat. Saute shrimp in a shallow pan until pink. Add Cajun seasoning and stir a couple of minutes.

Place cooked Quinoa  and shrimp on a plate. Sprinkle pomegranate seeds on top, which the sweetness plays well with the saltiness of the shrimp.

Garnish with a dollop of yogurt, and enjoy!

 

 

Leave a Reply

