Poetry Jazz Cafe…A hidden Gem!

 

place

After having a fabulous dinner with an ole college buddy of mine, I decided to take her to a Jazz bar located in the Kensington Market area on Augusta AVE. My spouse took me to this place before about a year ago and I really enjoyed it (and I’m not even a jazz lover.)

When I took my friend, she thought the outside façade looked like a fighting outlet for boxers, needless to say she was skeptical of the place, which does appears a little sketchy I must say so myself. But once inside we were faced with a warm and romantic ambience. Every table had a lit candle giving the bar an intimate vibe.

 

band

The bar was very narrow and packed with people when we got there at 11:00, but luckily we found a table with an awesome view of the band.

jazz1

The sweet bartender came to our table and gave us the drink menu tucked inside a book, which is a signature thing they do.

bitches brew

My friend ordered a drink called the Bitches Brew. It consisted of aged dark rum and Tequila with a splash of hibiscus nectar($10). I had a sip of her drink and I was tempted take it and give her mine. It was smooth and light with a bit of a bite. Not at all strong tasting. So, don’t let the tequila scare ya. We loved it!

spanish fly

I ordered the white & coconut flavored rum blended with brown sugar and mint ($10). The coconut was the predominant tasting note in this drink. It was refreshing. However, I think it’s best enjoyed on a hot day.

jazz

Over all, this Jazz bar is great for a romantic date or to take a friend to have a good conversation. Don’t worry at all about the music being too loud. And bear in mind that they don’t have an extensive food menu. I suggest to eat before you visit.

The mural on the façade of the bar is very indicative how hidden this place really is. I definitely recommend it.

 

Admission: $10

Weekdays: 4:30 – 2:00p.m.

Saturday: 7:30 – 2:00p.m.

Sunday:2:30 – 7:30 p.m.

No reservations.

Attire: casual

Phone number: 416-599-5299

 

Leave a Reply

